Thank you for supporting our Summer Soiree

Oh what a night! While the rain didn’t stop until the end the evening, it didn’t stop 200 people mingling, dancing and enjoying viewing exclusive clips of Kartemquin’s films on a very historic day in America.

On behalf of everyone at Kartemquin: a big thank you for your generous support!

Our 2015 Summer Soiree was a huge success. We're delighted to announce that we surpassed all of our goals, including a $25,000 matching challenge grant on the night! Adding up ticket sales, pre-event donations, on-site challenge grant pledges and donations, and the raffle, we raised over $90,000!

View photos at our Facebook Page. Pictured above: Co-host and Kartemquin Board Member Jason Stephens with Kartemquin Executive Director Justine Nagan.

All of our attendees also got to see exclusive clips of current in-progress films - including new projects we have not yet announced publicly!

The money we raised at the Summer Soiree will allow us to continue to make independent documentaries that foster understanding, change thinking, and build support for social change. Your support allows us to nurture the documentary filmmakers of the future too, through filmmaker programs like Diverse Voices in Docs, KTQ Labs, and our acclaimed Internship, and to act as a leading voice for independent media.

Our thanks in particular go to:
- Our gracious and generous hosts Jason Stephens and Ken O'Keefe
- Our Summer Soiree Host Committee and Board of Directors
- Our generous sponsors, including The Sage Foundation, SPLASH, GCM Grosvenor, Jasculca Terman Strategic Communications, Chicago Media Project, Exelon, New City
- The superb catering staff and our interns and volunteers
- DJ Naomi Walker for spinning her fabulous collection of 45s and LPs
- City Winery Chicago; Ken Pelletier and Amanda Lao; Christie Hefner; Michelle and Oren Schumaker; RockIt; Chicago International Film Festival; Metro; Poetry Foundation; Vincent; and Wait, Wait, Don't Tell Me for the raffle prizes.

We can’t wait to celebrate our 50th anniversary with you next year! If you want to be part of the 50th anniversary celebration host committee, please contact Nicole Gotthelf at

If you would like to make an additional donation in support of Kartemquin, please visit

Friday, June 26, 2015
400 East Randolph Street
Private residence in Chicago

VIP Reception
An intimate gathering with KTQ filmmakers.

Summer Soirée
Cocktails, film exclusives, music, hors d’oeuvres, raffle.

Host Committee
Adrianne & Robert Furniss • Amanda Amert & Doug Bacon • Andrew & Gigi Schwertfeger • Bill Von Hoene & Nikki Zollar • Brad & Lisa Henderson • Dedrea & Paul Gray • Ed Bachrach • Jackie Bucksbaum • Jane M Saks & Emma Ruby-Sachs • Jason Stephens & Ken O’Keefe • Judy Wise & Sheldon Baskin • Ken Pelletier & Amanda Lao • Laurel Appell Lipkin • Mark Mitten • Martin Ozinga IV & Amy Ozinga • Michael & Jacky Ferro • Melissa Sage Fadim & Jamey Fadim • Peter Gilbert • Robin Robinson • Sarah Solotaroff Mirkin • Shawn-Laree & Dan O’Neil • Sonny Garg & Julia Harris • Steve Cohen • Susan Morrison • Thea Flaum & Robert Hill • William Schopf

Kartemquin Board of Directors
Adam Singer • Adrianne B. Furniss • Ed Bachrach • Eric Conley • Gordon Quinn • Jason Stephens • Lauren M. Foley • Maria Finitzo • Preston Pugh • Stu Fagan • Susan E. Morrison • Yvonne Afable

Print Media Sponsor

Social Change Sponsors
Sage Foundation

Community Sponsors
Jason Stephens & Ken O’Keefe
GCM Grosvenor

Film Sponsors
Jasculca Terman Strategic Communications

VIP Sponsors
Adrianne & Robert Furniss
Brad & Lisa Henderson
Chicago Media Project
Dedrea & Paul Gray
Ed Bachrach
Jackie & John Bucksbaum
Judy Wise & Sheldon Baskin
Ken Pelletier & Amanda Lao
Martin Ozinga IV & Amy Ozinga
Michael & Jacky Ferro
Newcity Hearts Arts
Shawn-Laree & Dan O’Neil
Sonny Garg & Julia Harris
Susan Morrison
Thea Flaum & Robert Hill
William Schopf